Drowning Bridge

The heart seems a little heavy tonight,

My words have lost its touch to console.

The bridge that connected the two, is

Held by a single strand of hope.

But that hope has long been overshadowed;

It’s only a matter of time till this is over

And along with it, this hope, this relationship.

 

Sometimes I wonder why it’s harder to say ‘Hi’ than ‘Goodbye’,

And sometimes it’s just hard to sit across the table.

 

I apologize for the times I’ve not being around,

But there were days when I needed you too.

Now the bridge has come down; not sure what it holds for us two.

Am I not allowed to falter because I’m your son?

I’m sorry father; I couldn’t be that perfect son.

A son you could be proud of, a son you could admire,

A son you could cherish, who would fulfil your desires.

 

I hope your dreams if not all, some will come true,

Wherever I may be, I will always love you.

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Drowning Bridge

  1. Bristo Jiu says:

    very upbeat sentiments.

    well done.

Leave a Reply

