Be There, Tonight…

Come, sit beside me;

I’ve noticed you sneaking on me for a while now.

Isn’t that why you came; to keep me company?

Thought the towering heights of this city,

And the bustling noise around,

Would be a perfect camouflage, and I could escape you.

 

And escape I did, but just for a while.

Don’t know what got in my way today,

That I let you catch up with me.

Maybe it was starting to get a little lonely

In you absence; we have had our share of fun,

Under the rain, and with smoke in hand.

 

Oh, how I’ve missed you, though at times

You make me cry.

Be there, Solitude, tomorrow.

Be there, tonight…

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Be There, Tonight…

  1. By far my favourite poem I’ve read on WordPress! Keep writing!

    • jagring says:

      Either I should be flattered, or you are new around here..!! There are a lot of brilliant minds around… I’m sure you’re on of them..!!

  2. Purvi says:

    I could connect to this. Lucid in pain of missing the one we love.. You can share the sentiment here at my post.
    I am at ~
    http://puplumages.wordpress.com/2012/04/26/1770/

  3. miffalicious says:

    Glad to see you posting again:)

  4. Alcina says:

    Calling solitude.This is awesome.
    Loved it to the core!

    Afixxion Addixt-I wish i never knew you

  5. Marinela says:

    Absolutely a marvelous piece of writing!

  6. Raivenne says:

    Oh, the much too close to home familiarity of this.

  7. sprigblossoms says:

    Beautiful poetry! – experiencing the old amid the new.

  8. We can try to hide from lonliness, but we always let it find is again. It keeps good company at times. I enjoyed this.

  9. antomaniax says:

    Beautiful…..
    Antomaniax.

  10. Sam373 says:

    “…Isn’t that why you came; to keep me company
    Thought the towering heights of this city,
    And the bustling noise around,
    Would be a perfect camouflage, and I could escape you…”

    Many people don’t believe we can be alone in a crowd and just as many can’t see solitude as a welcomed and sometime unwanted companion. -Good write.

    • jagring says:

      You know, I actually have an earlier post inline with being alone in a crowd too..
      Guess its one of those conflicted feelings on life..Thanks for dropping by..!!

Leave a Reply

