Gullible Hesitation

 

I fear my fear as I lay next to you, and

A slip of my hand, over your tummy, slides through.

Their bodies unfamiliar, yet

There is confidence between the two.

And I try to grip you tighter,

 More so, to ease myself than you.

 

With every flicker the dawn grew brighter,

And that meant we’re getting up too.

Yet I try to imitate and hesitate, to

Convince myself that morning is still a distant view;

And I fear, indulging myself in you

I’d lose my way getting back too.

 

What lies between this timidness and affection

Seldom crave an answer for simplification.

I shelter cold morning dew,

In hopes I haven’t disheartened you.

The morning breaks in gullible hesitation

And you smile.., denounces all apprehension.

 

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Gullible Hesitation

  1. miffalicious says:

    I’m glad to see you are writing again.

  2. Oh, I really love this; I can see my own relationship and my personal emotions reflected in it.

  3. Kay Salady says:

    What a beautiful narrative on the morning after. Wow!

Leave a Reply

