Silent Embrace

The weight’s been heavy on me

And winter chose to be a stranger

Lustrous days have quietly tiptoed by

Morning dawn shattered my hopes of new light

As I turned into the phantom of the night

 

When exhaustion almost made way for a frown

Forgotten faces walk by with exquisite smiles

And left me with a warm embrace of respite

As though she received a letter from heaven

To reassure me that I’m not yet forsaken

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Silent Embrace

  1. pure2core says:

    The best part of your poems are any one can connect to them easily…..The flow is really quite good…Thanks for share…Keep writing your heart…

    • jagring says:

      Thanks once again pure2core, I see it works out better for me too, to write about something/feelings which is common to most if not all, than to draw around emotions which very few can relate to..!!

  2. fhhakansson says:

    The use of oxymoron makes makes this poem a beautiful work of art (“morning dawn” – “shattered […] light” and “warm embrace [-] of respite”). Nicely done 🙂

  3. Morning says:

    silent embrace, love the idea,
    very well conveyed story.

    blessings, cheers.
    Happy Poetry Picnic!

  4. Kay Salady says:

    I can so relate to this poem. Very well written. Thank you.

    • jagring says:

      I guess everyone has a point of time when they would go through certain emotion eventually. Hence, reading about those from others is unikely to be unfamiliar..!!

  5. fundamental sentiments, well penned.

    🙂

  6. Cherlyn says:

    Something about these lines “Morning dawn shattered my hopes of new light As I turned into the phantom of the night” gives me a bit of a shiver. What a wonderfully written poem 🙂 Thank you for sharing!

    Here’s mine: Butterflies

Leave a Reply

