The Day That I

The day that I rise, I wish I’d raise a toast with you,

And proudly announce that the biggest reason for it was you.

The day that I rise, I wish you stood by,

Even if to no one’s gaze, I still hope you comply.

 

The day that I cry, I wish no eyes would see,

So there be no questions asked, and I’m left to be.

The day that I cry, I wish it’s in your arms that I tear

But you’ve long been gone, and left no reason to be sober.

 

The day that I die, I wish to see a bright light,

And rest in assurance that there’s nothing but peace after that.

The day that I die, I wish it’s beside you that I’m laid,

If not when alive, atleast in death we’d be together like once said.

 

 

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to The Day That I

  1. sova.aee says:

    It’s awesome…
    I like this..

  2. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 39 (March 3-9, 2011) | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  3. love it,
    die with pride.
    smiles.
    🙂

  4. Jingle says:

    powerful writing, keep it up.
    🙂

  5. jagring says:

    Thanks guys, Just letting my heart flow.. 😉 ..!!

  6. Sam373 says:

    Great writing. I hope to read more.

  7. Please feel free to share 1 to 3 poems with our potluck poetry today, first time participants could use old poems or poems unrelated to our theme, Thanks..
    Happy Monday!

    Love your blog, your poetry is impressive!

    hope to see you share, simply link in your work and enjoy some traffic…

  8. Jingle says:

    welcome…poets rally is closed for submission, Glad that JP is open for you.

    A++

    Happy Wednesday.

  9. So glad you linked this to Potluck. Skillful rhyming and flow.

  10. Lisa says:

    Very sad and really resonates with lots of folks!

  11. Nicely written 🙂

  12. Thor Smith says:

    Tremendous poem, wonderful tempo.

  13. pure2core says:

    It’s when heart starts brimming the words won’t stop….Powerful and emotional friend , very nice…..Squeezes out the heart..

Leave a Reply

